How we met Alice

Alice Choo's story reads like a film script. Only 15 years old when she ran away from home, her mother had raised her in a Tokyo suburb – she never got to know her father, who was reportedly close to the Yakuza. Pursuing her first great passion, art, Alice moved to Hong Kong where at art school she met photographer and tattoo artist Paul Chan. She became his muse, his preferred motif, his lover, only to be deserted by him. 

With little money in her pocket, Alice travelled to Paris where she found her true love, gastronomy, and with it a young chef running a restaurant in the fourth arrondissement. Their love lasted so Alice stayed in Paris, until she fell in love with a guitarist from New York and moved to Brooklyn. To make a living she started working as a burlesque dancer, making more money than ever before in the city’s best clubs. Night after night she worked on her dream: her own restaurant. A dream she’d eventually turn into a reality in her hometown a few years after the turn of the millennium.

The story might have ended there had she not met Francesco, Sébastien and Frank while drinking a Lao Khao while on a Bangkok business trip. After the last glass in the early hours of the morning she could barely stand up, but their joint idea was born: an Alice Choo restaurant with a bar and club in a top location in Zurich.

How we met Alice

Ihre Lebensgeschichte liest sich wie ein Drehbuch. 15 Jahre alt war Alice Choo, als sie von zu Hause ausriss. Ihre Mutter hatte sie in einem Vorort von Tokio gross gezogen – ihren Vater, dem eine Nähe zur Yakuza nachgesagt wird, lernte sie nie kennen. Ihrer ersten grossen Leidenschaft, der Kunst, folgend, zog Alice nach Hong Kong, wo sie an der Art School den Fotografen und Tätowierer Paul Chan traf. Sie wurde seine Muse, sein bevorzugtes Motiv, seine Geliebte und wieder verlassen. 

Ihre wenigen Ersparnisse in der Tasche, reiste Alice Choo nach Paris. Dort lernte sie ihre wahre Liebe kennen: die Gastronomie. Und mit ihr einen jungen Koch, der im vierten Arrondissement ein Restaurant betrieb. Die Liebe hielt und Alice blieb in Paris, bis sie sich in einen Gitarristen aus New York verliebte. Sie folgte erneut ihrer Leidenschaft und zog nach Brooklyn. Um ihren Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten, liess sich Alice Choo als Burlesquetänzerin anheuern und verdiente in den besten Clubs der Stadt bald mehr Geld als in ihrem ganzen Leben zuvor. Nacht für Nacht arbeitete sie an ihrem Traum: dem eigenen Restaurant. Einen Traum, den sie wenige Jahre nach der Jahrtausendwende in ihrer Heimatstadt Tokio wahr machte. 

Und die Geschichte würde vielleicht hier enden, wäre Alice Choo nicht, als sie auf einem Business Trip in Bangkok einen Lao Khao trank, Francesco und Frank begegnet. Nach dem letzten Glas in den frühen Morgenstunden konnten sie kaum noch stehen, dafür stand ihre gemeinsame Idee: ein Alice Choo Restaurant mit Bar und Club an bester Lage in Zürich.